The Firehose Project – WEEK 10 / Custom Stripe Payments, Instagram API, and the Capital One Software Engineer Summit Final Round

As I’m developing the website for my job right now, I’m constantly hitting walls and spending hours and hours trying to figure out how to implement one little feature. One feature I had a lot of trouble this week was implementing a custom Stripe payment form.

Custom Stripe Form

Essentially what I wanted to do was have a form where a user could type in the amount of money he/she wanted to pay to the website’s virtual currency system and have Stripe process it.

For example, I wanted it so that a user could manually type in $20 into a form box, which would automatically transfer into a Stripe payment of $20. I looked at the documentation and I really didn’t know where to start.

After 10 hours of work, I finally got it working (I will hopefully post in the future how I did it). Here is my super simplistic form page:

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 10.00.46 PM

When I click on the button, and for example if I wanted to add $10,540, this is what will show (for some reason mine is in Japanese…)

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 10.02.05 PM

After the payment processes, a page displays to confirm that the payment went through:

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 10.03.19 PM

Now if I go back to my profile page, the balance is successfully added.

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 10.03.32 PM

I was super excited when I got this to work.

Capital One Instagram App

Another thing I’ve been working on is this weird app that displays the 20 latest Instagram posts with #capitalone. It also displays the number of likes each post has, the user that posted it and their information such as number of followers, number of people they follow, etc.

It also implements a super simple algorithm that attempts to determine whether the post is positive or negative towards Capital One.

The approach I took can be seen here: Capital One Instragram App About Page.

The reason I’m building this app is for the Software Engineer Summit hosted by Capital One. It’s highly competitive with applicants from all over the country, but luckily I was chosen for the final round. Although my app is probably far too simple for it to be accepted for the final selection, if I somehow am chosen, I’ll get to go to their 1 week software engineer summit which would be pretty awesome.

Being a student and enrolling a web development bootcamp can give you a lot of perks. Mainly in the fact that you will be way ahead of most CS majors in practical skills. So if there are any CS undergrads wondering if enrolling in a bootcamp is worth it, I would highly recommend it (although balancing school work is incredibly challenging).

3 thoughts on “The Firehose Project – WEEK 10 / Custom Stripe Payments, Instagram API, and the Capital One Software Engineer Summit Final Round

Leave a Reply

