The Firehose Project – WEEK 8 / Difficulties of developing a website from scratch

It has been a week since I started my job as a web developer at a local start up. It has been a lot of work, but I am learning a lot through the process. A lot of the work is looking back through the material at The Firehose Project and applying them in different ways. Some of the work consists of trying to figure out solutions to problems I haven’t encountered in the courses at The Firehose Project.

Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 5.52.41 PM

This is how the website looks right now. Playing around with the front end took some time, mostly because I didn’t know how to make the website look nice.
I ended up looking at other websites and trying to mimic their design.

Difficulties of developing a website from scratch

One major difficulty was sketching out what the website actually needed. This involved talking with the owners and making sure that what I had in mind was also what they had in mind.

I also needed to figure out how to configure the backend to achieve the website’s goals. This meant drawing things out and figuring out how I would go about it. I’m not finished with this yet, but I am getting closer.

Searching for new solutions

I often times have to search for solutions for problems I have never encountered before. Luckily through this course I have obtained the necessary googling skills to find the optimal solution.

Figuring out how to display a sortable grid

Also the great thing about Ruby on Rails is that often times there are gems to solve problems. With a quick google search, I found wice-grid,and used that to make my grid on the front page. I could have written the grid by myself, but using the gem was much easier. It also makes the grids sortable which is super convenient.

4 Weeks Left

Sadly, I only have 4 weeks left in The Firehose Project. Every day I try to absorb as much as I can while I am enrolled. Again, my mentors in this program have really guided me through the next steps in my journey.

Leave a Reply

