The Firehose Project – WEEK 7 / Landing my first Web Development Job

7 weeks into the bootcamp, I landed my first web development job. I saw a posting by a local business looking for a web developer who would make a website for them that would become the core of their business. I immediately sent them a message saying that I would love to join their team.

I met up with them, they saw that I was super passionate and somewhat knowledgable about web development, and they seemed to like me.

On the other hand, they were also talking to other web developers with experience so I honestly didn’t think I would get the job. Since this website was going to be the core for their business, I thought they would want to hire someone more experienced than me.

But to my surprise, I got an email from them the next day saying that they want me in their team. So just like that, I got my first web development job.

Applying what I learned to the job

My job is to make a website fully from scratch, implementing user authentication, payment systems, and a beautiful user interface along with other somewhat complex functionality.

This is exactly what we learn at The Firehose Project, so I told them that I’d be developing the website with Ruby on Rails.

Really Helpful Mentors

They were concerned about the security of the website as it would have payment processing. I didn’t have any idea if there were security issues regarding this (I assumed that RoR and Devise / other payments gems would take care of this) but just take make sure I asked Ken, the co-founder of The Firehose Project, for some advice.

He immediately replied to me giving me details about the options I have and also about PCI compliance (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard). I also consulted my mentor about how I would go about developing this website and he pointed out some things to be careful regarding security.

Other than that, a lot of the site functionality consists of the things we learned at The Firehose Project. This just tells you how practical the things taught in the courses here are.

Some things I don’t know how to implement yet. Fortunately, The Firehose Project teaches you how to research ways to implement features even if you don’t have any idea how.

I’m super excited about this job and how much The Firehose Project has improved my skills. I still have a few more weeks to go, and I still haven’t finished Flixter (Udemy clone app) or the Chess App. On top of that I will be constantly bombarded with schoolwork, midterms, etc. It is going to be long nights and a lot of hard work, but hopefully I’ll be able to make it out alive and learn a ton from this experience.

3 thoughts on “The Firehose Project – WEEK 7 / Landing my first Web Development Job

Leave a Reply

