The Firehose Project – WEEK 2 / Back to the basics

Last week, I outlined how I blazed past too fast with the coursework and realized that I needed to go back through the basics in this blog post.

Back to the Basics – Ruby Monks Primer

So this week, I did just that. I went through the Ruby Monks Primer course. Sometimes I had to go back to figure out and understand the concepts again and again. This part was a lot of self-learning, but I felt that it did pay off.

The problem was that I didn’t know how to apply these concepts yet.

I received a lot of advice from my peers that I should go back and go through the apps that I have made so far.
I tried going back to my Nomster application to try and figure out what I was exactly doing, but it was really a challenge. I really didn’t know what was going on, so I went through Ruby on Rails Guides. By going through this tutorial, I was able to deepen my understanding of how everything worked together.

Progress up until now

Two weeks and a half into the Firehose Project, my progress has been the following:

  • Became fairly comfortable with HTML/CSS
  • Gained basic understanding of bootstrap framework
  • Gained basic understanding of the Ruby languages

However, I’m still not able to:

  • Develop a simple rails site on my own without looking at anything
  • Understand ActiveRecords
  • Understand how every part of the app works together

I’ve got a long ways to go, but I find it very rewarding. My mentor is giving me direction to make learning easier.

It does seem that right now I’m detached from the actual coursework of the Firehose Project and I’m doing mostly self-learning. On the other hand, the Firehose Project Community does help me when I don’t understand something and the office hours/mentor sessions are very useful. Also, I find the coding challenges very useful as well.

In the end, I feel that you have to go through the actual documentation and dive in and read to actually understanding everything that’s going on. I hope that through the next week, I’m able to grasp how each part of the app works with each other.

Leave a Reply

